Paul Davenport called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. and the January minutes were approved.

### **Chair's Report**

### Paul Davenport, Faculty Senate Chair

- Regulations will be reviewed tomorrow by the Constitution Committee.
- At Gator Day in Tallahassee the University had an incredible amount of support from the Gator legislators.

### President's Report

## Kent Fuchs, President

- After speaking at a recent memorial service, President Fuchs asked that senators remember how precious and special our students are and thanked faculty for taking care of our students, teaching, advising and mentoring them.
- President Fuchs wrote his monthly guest column in the Alligator thanking UF's staff.
- UF recently admitted the new class of undergraduates.
  - The goal enrollment number is 6700 out of 32,000 applications.
  - The average weighted GPA is 4.35.
  - Percentage of students who are in top 5% of their high school class is about a quarter of the admitted students.
  - o 20 percent of the admitted students are from under-represented groups.

## **Provost's Report**

## • The Provost updated the senate on a couple items.

- UF is in the midst of interviews for the Vice President of Student Affairs. One candidate was on campus last week and two will be arriving in the future.
- The search for the Design, Construction and Planning Dean is continuing with the search committee soon deciding on three finalists. Campus interview will start after spring break.
- February 20<sup>th</sup> is the ribbon cutting for the Reitz Union renovation.

# **Information Items:**

## Student Government

## Joselin Padron-Rasines, Student Body President

- Joselin Padron-Rasines gave a short update on this year's accomplishments of the UF Student Government
  - o Joselin came into office with three goals: Accessibility, Affordability, and Accountability.
  - o Created Gender neutral restrooms
  - o Lobbied in Tallahassee
  - Added UF Safe Rides
  - Presents Mental Health Awareness Week
  - o Creating Gator Career Closet

# New Major: Construction Productivity Paul Duncan, Associate Dean, Graduate School

• This is a new major in Construction Productivity from College of Design, Construction and Planning that was approved at the January Graduate Council meeting. Plans are to make this effective Summer 2016.

# Joe Glover, Provost

#### Summer Camps and Housing Requests

### Robert W. Ostrow, Director

Housing for Conference Services

- Robert Ostrow informed the Senate about long term, short term and intern housing that has become available.
  - Apartments that are available have 1 or 2 bedrooms, furnished, equipped kitchens, bed/bath linen, laundry service, inclusive utilities and TV.
  - Long term apartments have a two week minimum and are located in Corry Village Building 277
  - Short term apartments must have a three night minimum stay and located in Beaty, Jennings, Rawlings and Reid dormatories.
  - Interns apartments are available during summer C, located in Beaty Towers, is a suite style, is fully furnished and has a full kitchen.

### **Constitution Revisions**

David Groisser, Chair, Constitution Committee

• David Groisser presented the Constitution Committee's recommended changes to the Senate. These will be an action item at the next meeting.

Dr. Davenport reminded the Senate that the nominations for Chair-Elect are still open. Candidates can self-nominate.

Meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m.

#### Senators Attending

Carrie Adams Luis Alvarez-Castro Jane Bachelor Trevor Bopp Gary Boulware Jeannine Brady Samantha Brooks Thomas Buford Clay Calvert Nico Cellinese James Collins Michael Dark Paul Davenport Tammy Davidson Daniel Estrada Ibrahim Farugi Roger Fillingim Joshua Freeman Lyn Gettys **Katerie Gladdys** Renee Goodrich David Groisser Charles Haddad Jacob Hammer Chris Hass Darryl Heard

Phyllis Hendry Amanda House Edith Kaan Michael Kane Bahareh Keith Mei-Fang Lan Sherryl Larkin Haniph Latchman John Lilly Gillian Lord Volker Mai Christopher Martinez Valrie Minson Nancy Moores Larry Muszynski Scott Myers Walter O'Dell Mark Panning Andrew Pitkin David Quillen Sarah Reuss Alice Rhoton-Vlasak Jeffrey Rollins Andrew Rosalsky Richard Rose Melody Royster

Karen Sando Susan Schaffer Liz Screaton Susan Semple-Rowland Nipa Shah **Elizabeth Shephard** Steve Shugan **Amy Simmone** Tina Smith-Bonahue Lauren Solberg Fred Southwick Elisa Sottile Margaret Temple-Smith **Ray Thomas** Jenny Tucker Sonal Tuli Hans van Oostrom Katie Vogel-Anderson Ratree Wayland Ann Wehmeyer Kristin Weitzel Karen Whalen Caroline Wiltshire Mary Ellen Young

Faculty Senate Minutes – February 18, 2016

## Liaisons

Kent Fuchs Joe Glover Ana Spiguel Nicole Stedman Elaine Turner

## Students

Nathan Blinn

### Guests

Paul Duncan Robert W. Ostrow Joselin Padron-Rasiines